top of page
Friday, December 3, 2021, 7 pm
The Artists Center at the Galen, 72567 Hwy 111, Palm Desert, California
Louis, Louis! Meet us in Versailles!
STEVEN LEHNING, viola da gamba
Marais graphics.png
Margaret Irwin-Brandon.jpg

Join us as Desert Baroque begins its 2021-22 season featuring brilliant music heard at Louis XIV’s opulent Palace of Versailles. The viola da gamba, in whatever size - soprano to bass - is not a member of the violin family (as is the cello), but a bowed instrument family of its own, with close association to the lute - both being fretted instruments. The viol is often paired with the harpsichord or with other plucked string instruments.


Our program features this amiable pairing, with music from the very famous Marin Marais, whose life and lifetime (1656-1728) paralleled and served the long reign of Louis XIV (1643-1715). For harpsichord, the Suite in D Minor by the famous harpsichordist, organist and composer, Jean Henri d’Anglebert, whose only surviving collection of compositions is his beautifully engraved book of four harpsichord suites.

$30 general admission $50 reserved, front 2 rows



A 5-concert series on period instruments, and receive one concert free. (Available only before Dec. 3 concert)

FOUR FIRST-FRIDAYS: Dec. 3; Jan. 7; Feb. 4; Mar. 4 and a Celebrity concert on March 25, 2022

The audience is requested to provide ID, proof of vaccination, and to be masked, until further notice. We will be requesting proof of vaccination to attend this event. Security officers will be on duty. Attendees must bring a photo ID and either their physical vaccination card, or a picture of their vaccination card. They may also show their digital vaccination record. All California residents may request a digital vaccination record at Children, age 5-11 must adhere to these protocols.



Suite in F Minor from Troisième Livre de Piéces de Clavecin (1758)

Jacques Duphly (1715-1789)

La Forqueray - Chaconne

Suite in A Minor

“Dubuisson” (Pseudonym, possibly Jean Lacquement, circa 1622-1680)
Source: Manuscript from 1666 housed at the Library of Congress, M2.1/Book T2 17C.
Prelude - Allemande - Courante - Saraband I & II - Gigue


Suite XII in C Major

Johann Jakob Froberger (1616-1667)
Lamento sopra la dolorosa perdita della Real Mstà di Ferdinando IV, Rè de Romani etc. (1656) - Gigue - Courante - Sarabande


Suite in F Major from Troisième Livre de Piéces de Viole (1711)

Marin Marais (1656-1728)
Prelude - Allemande et son double - Courante et son double - Gavotte, la badine - Sarabande - Minuets I & II - Chaconne


Deuxiéme Suite in G Minor (Clavecin - 1689)

Jean-Henry d’Anglebert (1635-1691)
Prélude non mesurè - Allemande - Courante - Sarabande - Gigue - Passacaille


Viola da gamba, by Marcelo Ardizzone, Paris, 1992; after Edward Lewis, England, circa 1700.
Harpsichord, 2 manuals, by Keith Hill, Grand Rapids, Michigan,
Opus 51, 1977, in the Flemish style


bottom of page